Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Australian Curriculum

The Australian Curriculum sets out the core knowledge, understanding, skills and general capabilities that are important for all Australian students. It identifies what all young people should learn as they progress through schooling, and is the foundation for high quality teaching to meet the needs of all Australian students.
Students across Australia will have a consistent curriculum in English, Mathematics, Science, History (and Geography in 2014), and these will be the core learning areas every young Australian will study during their education from Prep to Year 10. In addition to these learning areas, schools will have the flexibility to offer a range of other subjects, so that education is tailored to the needs of individual students and each school community.
Within all learning areas, there will be a focus on developing seven general capabilities of students. The capabilities include skills, behaviours and dispositions that students need to develop and apply to content knowledge, and they will help them become successful learners, confident and creative individuals, and active and informed citizens. Throughout their schooling, students will develop and use these capabilities in their learning across the curriculum, in co-curricular programs, and in their lives outside school.
For further information, please see: